Pleasant Vy. tabs Cipriano as business manager – Times News Online

Pleasant Vy. tabs Cipriano as business manager – Times News Online

Published December 05. 2020 06:13AM

The Pleasant Valley School Board approved hiring Thomas Cipriano Jr., of the Hazleton area, as the new business manager in an 8 to 1 vote.

School board Director Norman Burger voted no, and Director Susan Kresge said she would vote yes, only because Superintendent Lee Lesisko recommended him for the position.

Cipriano will replace Susan Famularo, who is retiring as of Dec. 31.

School board President Donna Yozwiak said she thinks Cipriano is the best candidate.

Cipriano has a bachelor’s degree in accounting economics from King’s College, and most recently was the manager of business services and facilities at Gratz College.

He also has been an assistant business manager for Schuylkill Intermediate Unit 29, business administrator and fiscal coordinator for the Hanover Area School District, and manager of School Business Services for Foundations Inc. His new position pays $120,000, which will be prorated. Lesisko said his salary is within the price range recommended by the auditors.

Also hired in an 8 to 1 vote is Tiffany Brancato for the position of school nurse at Pleasant Valley High School. Again, Burger was the dissenting vote.

Brancato has a bachelor’s degree in nursing from Cedar Crest College. Her position will pay $45,067. She will be replacing Susan Ryan and Kathy Balch.

The board approved the resignations of Crystal Rivera, monitor; and Jill Skinner, substitute paraprofessional associate; added substitute food service employee to the assignments of Janet Dooner and Crystal Rivera; and named three intramural advisers: Envirothon, Maricatherine Garr, PVHS; volleyball, Kathleen Gesiskie, PVMS; and baseball, T.J. Murphy, PVHS.

The school board also held its reorganization meeting just before its regular meeting.

Donna Yozwiak was selected to continue as the school board president, and Len Peeters was chosen to continue as the vice president.

“Our challenges for the next year as a board will require much energy and vision, Yozwiak said. “Some of our goals will be to balance the next budget, maintain the hybrid educational model as long as possible, finalize Dr. Lesisko’s administrative team, negotiate the professional, support and act 93 contracts, prepare for any and all issues that COVID-19 may impose upon our community, and to plan for the high school renovations to name a few.”

She said she knows the board and the superintendent will work together as a team “to provide every employee a safe and productive workplace, every student the opportunity to grow and to achieve, and the community with the commitment of excellence in education.”

Yozwiak also will continue as the board’s representative to the Monroe Career and Technical Institute. Teresa Greggo will take over as the legislative chair, and Peeters and Laura Jecker will serve as voting delegates to the Pennsylvania School Board Association.

Jecker was the first of several directors to thank the district’s employees, students and families for all the effort they put into making the school year as successful as possible.

“This is a very trying time for all of us, and I just want you to know the board appreciates you,” she said.

Desiree Murray of Chestnuthill, a paraprofessional at the elementary school, said she appreciated their support.

“Thank you very much for all of your kind words. It has been challenging … knowing that you back us fills my heart,” she said.

Murray encouraged families and students who are struggling to contact their teachers or a guidance counselor and get some help.

Source link



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *